Finding a lost love

Today I left my internship at the Gwinnett Coalition for Health and Human Services in a daze. I had been in a networking event all morning and then rushed to a meeting that lasted most of the afternoon. My brain had taken in all it was able to. As I left I decided I was in desperate need for some ‘self-care’. Before my marriage and move to Gwinnett county about 6 months ago that would have meant one of two things: yoga or trail running. Since I am in school and my husband is working, we are broke so joining a yoga studio hasn’t been an option. I have been running at Tribble Mill, a nearby park, but running on a paved path isn’t quite the same as trail running. I had seen some people coming off a trail once at Tribble Mill and decided today that I would give the trail a shot and try running it. It turned out to be one of the best ideas I’ve had in a while!

Trail running is different because you can escape the rest of the world and feel like you’re one with nature.  When I trail run, I find my inner jungle woman with my barefoot shoes and the wind in my hair.  My husband would say I am more like some kind of futuristic cyber jungle woman with my heart rate monitor and my barefoot shoes which are shoes designed to make me feel like I am barefoot without actually requiring me to be so.  Trail running is the only thing that keeps me sane after a long day of social-working. Take a peek into my run:

IMG_1030

IMG_1032

IMG_1034

What is your favorite type of self care?

2 thoughts on “Finding a lost love

  1. Yoga is a love of mine and I’ve recently tried to get into running. I am no way a natural though and am still waiting on that breakthrough when I actually feel like I can run for longer than 5 minutes at a time. You’re an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

